January Favourites

Here are a few things that have been keeping the spring in my step while I wait for Spring. (Do you see what I did there?)

Much of my month has been taken up with reading and my favourite book of the year so far has to be Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

book

I’ve not been a fan of Jodi Picoult since I read too many of her books close together, around 6 years ago. I was looking for books to get with my Christmas money and spotted this on Amazon. The tagline was, ‘To kill a mockingbird for the 21st century’. As To Kill a mockingbird is in my top 10 favourite reads of all time I thought Id give it a chance. It is so well written, it seems very well researched and it’s incredibly thought provoking. If you are swithering over this book- give it a chance as you’ll not regret it! I’ve just noticed that the review at the bottom of the cover is by Financial Times, is that a paper that usually does book reviews? Bizarre!

Smoothies

blog-1.jpg

Not usually a food I crave in January but I have been loving smoothies this month. To be fair its not been that cold this month, often it’ll be 6-9 degrees which is not exactly tropical but doesn’t make me want to curl up with a cup of tea either. The above smoothie was made with a tropical smoothie pack from Waitrose (frozen kiwi, mango and pineapple) and orange juice. Very high in sugar but, you know, so is chocolate.

Glow Tonic

blog-4.jpg

Not much to say about this stuff. It’s good. I think my skin looks better.

Journaling

blog-5.jpg

I’ve been trying to establish better night time and morning routines, I’ll probably write a post on that soon. Part of the night time routine involves leaving my phone across the room and journalling and reading in bed before I try to sleep. For most of November and December I really struggled to get to sleep at night. Life was just so busy. I have been writing in this journal (bought in Paperchase) every night in January and have been sleeping so much better.

New Sheets

blog-9.jpg

I treated myself to the above sheets from Soak & Sleep. They were in the sale and cost around £37 including postage for our king size set. The above photo doesn’t show the true colour, they are bright white with little black woven threads which look like little dashes. I just love them!

Q&A a Day

blog-7.jpg

I bought this for my husband for Christmas and I’m so glad I did, for the record he loves it too! There’s a question for each day of the year and a space for each of us to put our responses. Some questions are romantic and others are silly but it’s a lovely time to connect with each other every day, sometimes it sparks a wee conversation and other times we’re done in a couple of minutes but I’m enjoying the little ritual of it.

Favourites for Lucy have been going to see Trolls at the cinema, the Peppa dress she got from her Granny and starting nursery! Nursery has been going really well. She only has 2 afternoon sessions a week just now but it’s a lovely small council run nursery which is ideal for my quiet girl.

I hope anyone reading has had a healthy, happy January.

Much love,

Joanne xoxo

Leave a Reply

